Education Snapshots

Early Childhood Development

The Australian Early Development Census (AEDC) reports on the deveopmental progress of all children in Australia, including South Australia, by the time they begin their first year of full-time school, in five domains of early childhood development.

In 2015, about 23% of all South Australian children were developmentally vulnerable in 1 or more domains in the AEDC. The proportion for Aboriginal children in South Australia was about 49%.

The five domains of the AEDC are:

  • physical health and wellbeing
  • social competence
  • emotional maturity
  • language and cognitive skills and
  • communication skills and general knowledge.

More information can be found on the AEDC website.

More snapshots